Realty One Group - Shannon Smith Group


Sprite Icon instagram


Summerlin is a 22,500 acres Master Planned Community that was developed by The Howard Hughes Corporation here in the Las Vegas Metropolitan area of Nevada near the Spring Mountains and Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area. It lies mainly within the city limits of Las Vegas and in unincorporated Clark County. Summerlin, named after Howard Hughes’ grandmother, Jean Amelia Summerlin, ranked as the country’s best-selling master-planned community for more than a decade by Robert Charles Lesser & Co. and continues to rank among the top ten best-selling communities in the country some 19 years after development first began. The community includes a variety of land uses, including: residential, commercial, recreational, educational, medical, open space, and cultural. As of November 2010, Summerlins population was nearly 100,000.

Bicycle lanes are provided on most major roads in Summerlin. As the gateway into Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area, Summerlin is frequented daily by scores of cyclists making their way to the Conservation Area and using the community’s extensive trail system.

Most of Summerlins neighborhoods have small pocket parks that are maintained by one of the Summerlin associations. There are large community parks, which are available for use to all Summerlin residents, are located throughout Summerlin. As of 2008 there are nearly two dozen community parks that feature a variety of recreational amenities. These include league play soccer fields, baseball and t-ball fields, football fields, basketball courts, swimming pools, playgrounds, tennis courts, community centers, sand volleyball courts, horseshoes, bocce ball and shuffleboard courts, a tricycle course, interactive water spray features, motorized toy areas and barbecue areas.

Summerlin lies within both an incorporated municipality and unincorporated area. The area north of Charleston Blvd. is within the city of Las Vegas, while property south of Charleston Boulevard is located within unincorporated Clark County. As a planned community, Summerlin is managed by three major master associations (Summerlin North, Summerlin South and Summerlin West). The county portion is generally a part of Summerlin South. The northern portion, east, is mostly Summerlin North. The area west of the 215 beltway is Summerlin West. Many individual neighborhoods also have their own subdivision homeowners associations.

Summerlin is developed in villages. Each village features different amenities and residential offerings. Summerlin Centre is the community’s most dynamic village under development as Summerlin’s urban core. Summerlin has two age-restricted communities, including Sun City Summerlin and Siena. Both have their own associations and are not part of the master association